Jump to content


Photo

Simple report for counting IE versions


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 wmmayms

wmmayms

    MCITP

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 325 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Soccer, Computers

Posted 08 March 2010 - 02:02 PM

Here you go:

SELECT ExecutableName0, ProductVersion0, count(*)

FROM
v_GS_INSTALLED_EXECUTABLE

WHERE ExecutableName0 = 'iexplore.exe'

GROUP BY ExecutableName0, ProductVersion0
Order by ExecutableName0

Example:
ex.PNG
MCITP: Deployment, MCTS: SCCM, Active Directory, Vista, Windows 7, Deployment, Office 2010
LinkedIn
Twitter

#2 anyweb

anyweb

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 5,419 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Deploying Operating systems and more with System Center Configuration Manager

Posted 08 March 2010 - 02:26 PM

great stuff :)

and if we wanted to have two reports for counting IE6 and IE8 ?
Microsoft MVP > Enterprise Client Management
My linkedin profile at > linkedin.com
Follow me on Twitter > ncbrady
Follow windowsnoob.com on Twitter > windowsnoob
My blog

#3 wmmayms

wmmayms

    MCITP

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 325 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Soccer, Computers

Posted 09 March 2010 - 07:05 AM

great stuff :)

and if we wanted to have two reports for counting IE6 and IE8 ?


I donīt understand how you mean.
Do you want a report that combines all versions so you only see version 6 and version 8?
MCITP: Deployment, MCTS: SCCM, Active Directory, Vista, Windows 7, Deployment, Office 2010
LinkedIn
Twitter

#4 anyweb

anyweb

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 5,419 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Deploying Operating systems and more with System Center Configuration Manager

Posted 09 March 2010 - 08:45 AM

ok lets just say we want one to count all versions of ie8

should be easy enough to do or ?
Microsoft MVP > Enterprise Client Management
My linkedin profile at > linkedin.com
Follow me on Twitter > ncbrady
Follow windowsnoob.com on Twitter > windowsnoob
My blog

#5 wmmayms

wmmayms

    MCITP

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 325 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Soccer, Computers

Posted 09 March 2010 - 09:33 AM

ok lets just say we want one to count all versions of ie8

should be easy enough to do or ?


Yes :)

just add the part in red:

SELECT ExecutableName0, ProductVersion0, count(*)
FROM
v_GS_INSTALLED_EXECUTABLE
WHERE ExecutableName0 = 'iexplore.exe' and ProductVersion0 LIKE '8%'
GROUP BY ExecutableName0, ProductVersion0
Order by ExecutableName0


To make it count all instances of just IE 6 just change the '8%' to '6%'
MCITP: Deployment, MCTS: SCCM, Active Directory, Vista, Windows 7, Deployment, Office 2010
LinkedIn
Twitter

#6 anyweb

anyweb

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 5,419 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Deploying Operating systems and more with System Center Configuration Manager

Posted 09 March 2010 - 10:01 AM

cool and thanks :)
Microsoft MVP > Enterprise Client Management
My linkedin profile at > linkedin.com
Follow me on Twitter > ncbrady
Follow windowsnoob.com on Twitter > windowsnoob
My blog

#7 flyingbirds

flyingbirds

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 19 September 2010 - 09:20 AM

Am in new in reporting & SCCM , I tried to create a new report and add this to SQL statement but there is result when running the report.
may be I forgot something I don't know?

#8 Eswar Koneti

Eswar Koneti

    MCTS

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 661 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Singapore
  • Interests:Computers,Gaming

Posted 20 September 2010 - 03:42 AM

Am in new in reporting & SCCM , I tried to create a new report and add this to SQL statement but there is result when running the report.
may be I forgot something I don't know?


the question is to be no Result isn't it ? Do you see any error or blank web page ? check if you have software inventory enabled for .exe?
Configmgr Blog : www.eskonr.com
LinkedIn profile : linkedin.com

#9 YiannosG

YiannosG

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cyprus

Posted 21 September 2010 - 06:56 AM

Hello.

No matching records could be found.

And i have the software inventory on

Thank you

#10 Eswar Koneti

Eswar Koneti

    MCTS

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 661 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Singapore
  • Interests:Computers,Gaming

Posted 21 September 2010 - 07:19 AM

Hello.

No matching records could be found.

And i have the software inventory on

Thank you



Do you have Asset intelliegence enabled in your site since v_GS_INSTALLED_EXECUTABLE View Lists information about the installed software application executables on Configuration Manager clients found through Asset Intelligence.

Asset.jpg


To get the list of Iexplore versions,use this syntax:

select filename as "executable name",left(FileVersion,14)as "File Version",COUNT(*)as Total from v_GS_SoftwareFile where FileName='iexplore.exe'
 group by FileName,FileVersion


More on Iexplore here
Configmgr Blog : www.eskonr.com
LinkedIn profile : linkedin.com

#11 YiannosG

YiannosG

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cyprus

Posted 23 September 2010 - 11:49 AM

Do you have Asset intelliegence enabled in your site since v_GS_INSTALLED_EXECUTABLE View Lists information about the installed software application executables on Configuration Manager clients found through Asset Intelligence.

Asset.jpg


To get the list of Iexplore versions,use this syntax:

select filename as "executable name",left(FileVersion,14)as "File Version",COUNT(*)as Total from v_GS_SoftwareFile where FileName='iexplore.exe'
 group by FileName,FileVersion


More on Iexplore here



Thx for clearing it out :)

#12 Kingen

Kingen

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts

Posted 28 March 2012 - 09:14 AM

Does not work for me :
PALO038.jpg


Am i doing something wrong?
That's Jättebra!

#13 wanafly

wanafly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pune
  • Interests:SCCM

Posted 09 May 2012 - 08:22 AM

Hi Kingen,
You are trying the SQL queries in WQL Query tab. 'Queries' feature uses WQL queries which is the same used for SCCM Collection queries. Repoprting feature works on SQL. The queries given above are all SQL based and you need to try the same on the Reporting feature of SCCM.

Regards,
Rajeesh
http://scorpits.blogspot.com

#14 Kemixn

Kemixn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 24 June 2012 - 07:28 AM

Hi guys,

Im new to SQL queries. My management are asking me for a report to show what IEs we have and how many.
I need to do a custom report and point it to a collection to get the data from. How can I do this ?

Appreciate your help

Regards,




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Locations of visitors to this page