Kingskawn

DELL and drivers

Question

I'm new to Dell systems and with SCCM I want to create an automatic way of installing drivers and maybe Dell applications.

For the moment I'm trying Dell Client System Update but I got 1 model (Optiplex 780) that doesn't see any drivers or dell applications so my question is what else to use?

Otherwise there is the Dell Client Deployment Pack for Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager 2007 but the thing is that there are a multitude of applications like DCCU, CCTK, OMCI, CAB, ... that don't say which one is the best in order to get machines installed and 100% functional.

I need to run this in a task sequence and not from another application installed on a server. The only thing that could be usefull is a repository on SCCM server or another one with all drivers and applications. That's what I do for Lenovo and HP.

For Lenovo I have ThinInstaller which is a marvelous program and for HP I have SSM and they both work! :P

So to all the Dell Admins, what do you use to make a good Win7 gold build?

Yes for some of them (LatitudeE6500-LatitudeE6510-Optiplex780) but not for the LatitudeD620, LatitudeD830, OptiplexGX620 and Optiplex740.

Yes for some of them (LatitudeE6500-LatitudeE6510-Optiplex780) but not for the LatitudeD620, LatitudeD830, OptiplexGX620 and Optiplex740.

Hello

Have you tried DCSU+Dell Repository manager?

Install and Launch DCSU with commands during OS deployment, and point it to the Local Dell Repository Manager driver share. Just like Lenovo Thininstaller and Lenovo Update Retriever.

Thanks for you input but I already use this method in my SCCM task sequence ;-) just like Lenovo and HP tool.

Nice :) Do you have some sort of "how to" for the Dell Solution?