Jump to content


We use cookies to let you log in, for ads and for analytics. OK

Photo

How can I deploy Windows 8.1 x64 to the Microsoft Surface Pro 3 using MDT 2013 ?





  • Please log in to reply
66 replies to this topic

#21 psmiddleton

psmiddleton

    Advanced Member

  • Established Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 40 posts

Posted 20 January 2015 - 05:10 PM

Hi

 

I got the same problem as takim i have checked step three and modified the patch to the install.wim yet no joy.

 

is there anything else that you could think of that would fix this??

 

thanks

Paul





#22 anyweb

anyweb

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 7,251 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Deploying Operating systems and more with System Center Configuration Manager

Posted 20 January 2015 - 10:26 PM

sorry, what problem do you have exactly ?


Microsoft MVP > Enterprise Client Management
My linkedin profile at > linkedin.com
Follow me on Twitter > ncbrady
Follow windowsnoob.com on Twitter > windowsnoob
My blog

#23 psmiddleton

psmiddleton

    Advanced Member

  • Established Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 40 posts

Posted 21 January 2015 - 09:48 AM

Hi the task sequence does not get created with the following error

 

Import-MDTTaskSequence : Cannot bind parameter 'OperatingSystemPath' to the target. Exception setting "OperatingSystemPath": "Cannot find path 'DS001:\Operating Systems\Windows

8.1 Enterprise x64\sources\install.wim' because it does not exist."

 

thanks

Paul



#24 anyweb

anyweb

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 7,251 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Deploying Operating systems and more with System Center Configuration Manager

Posted 21 January 2015 - 10:15 AM

and did you copy the operating system source files to the required path before running the script above ?


Microsoft MVP > Enterprise Client Management
My linkedin profile at > linkedin.com
Follow me on Twitter > ncbrady
Follow windowsnoob.com on Twitter > windowsnoob
My blog

#25 psmiddleton

psmiddleton

    Advanced Member

  • Established Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 40 posts

Posted 21 January 2015 - 10:57 AM

Hi yes

i copied the OS files and downloaded all the other files as well, do i need to point to the WIM or just the folder?

thanks Paul



#26 anyweb

anyweb

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 7,251 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Deploying Operating systems and more with System Center Configuration Manager

Posted 21 January 2015 - 12:07 PM

copy the entire contents of your Windows 8.1 with update extracted iso to E:\Source\Operating Systems\Windows 8.1 x64

or whatever your path is, they try running the script again


Microsoft MVP > Enterprise Client Management
My linkedin profile at > linkedin.com
Follow me on Twitter > ncbrady
Follow windowsnoob.com on Twitter > windowsnoob
My blog

#27 psmiddleton

psmiddleton

    Advanced Member

  • Established Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 40 posts

Posted 21 January 2015 - 12:38 PM

Hi

I have done this a few times now.

 

Am i right in thinking once it has imported the OS and then tries to create the TS, the OS Name is what should be in the code line? As this then tells it where the wim is located.

 

I.E. when i look in the work bench I see “Windows 8.1 Enterprise Evaluation in Windows 8.1 Enterprise Evaluation x64 install.wim” as operating system name.

 

So the code should be:

import-mdttasksequence -path "DS001:\Task Sequences\Windows 8.1 x64" -Name "Deploy Windows 8.1 x64 - Surface Pro 3" -Template "Client.xml" -Comments "© windows-noob.com" -ID "001" -Version "1.0" -OperatingSystemPath "DS001:\Operating Systems\Windows 8.1 x64\Windows 8.1 Enterprise Evaluation in Windows 8.1 Enterprise Evaluation x64 install.wim" -FullName "windows-noob" -OrgName "windows-noob.com" -HomePage "about:blank" -AdminPassword "Password" -Verbose



#28 anyweb

anyweb

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 7,251 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Deploying Operating systems and more with System Center Configuration Manager

Posted 21 January 2015 - 01:32 PM

i didn't use that version so I don't know, but if you can get your hands on the Enterprise ISO you should see the same thing as I did.


Microsoft MVP > Enterprise Client Management
My linkedin profile at > linkedin.com
Follow me on Twitter > ncbrady
Follow windowsnoob.com on Twitter > windowsnoob
My blog

#29 anyweb

anyweb

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 7,251 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Deploying Operating systems and more with System Center Configuration Manager

Posted 21 January 2015 - 01:39 PM

Windows 8.1 Enterprise Evaluation in Windows 8.1 Enterprise Evaluation x64 install.wim

can't be right, look at the path, the wim will generally always be called install.wim


Microsoft MVP > Enterprise Client Management
My linkedin profile at > linkedin.com
Follow me on Twitter > ncbrady
Follow windowsnoob.com on Twitter > windowsnoob
My blog

#30 psmiddleton

psmiddleton

    Advanced Member

  • Established Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 40 posts

Posted 21 January 2015 - 01:51 PM

Hi

 

When replaced with Operating systems\Windows 8.1 x64\sources\install.WIM i get a error "object reference not set to an instance of an object"

 

???

Paul



#31 anyweb

anyweb

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 7,251 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Deploying Operating systems and more with System Center Configuration Manager

Posted 21 January 2015 - 06:32 PM

show me a screenshot of where you copied the operating system files to please


Microsoft MVP > Enterprise Client Management
My linkedin profile at > linkedin.com
Follow me on Twitter > ncbrady
Follow windowsnoob.com on Twitter > windowsnoob
My blog

#32 psmiddleton

psmiddleton

    Advanced Member

  • Established Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 40 posts

Posted 26 January 2015 - 12:05 PM

I changed the media version to Ent and it worked thanks.

 

i am getting an error now when trying to build that the device could not connect to the deployment share as a networking device did not have a diver installed. i tried injecting the nic drivers into the wim but still no joy 

 

any ideas?

 

paul



#33 anyweb

anyweb

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 7,251 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Deploying Operating systems and more with System Center Configuration Manager

Posted 26 January 2015 - 02:31 PM

how you are testing the deployment ? the boot wim is updated with surface pro 3 drivers, are you booting a surface pro 3 ?


Microsoft MVP > Enterprise Client Management
My linkedin profile at > linkedin.com
Follow me on Twitter > ncbrady
Follow windowsnoob.com on Twitter > windowsnoob
My blog

#34 pk@ianz

pk@ianz

    Newbie

  • Established Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 February 2015 - 09:04 PM

Hi Niall,

 

My Surface Pro deployment does not finish and I get the below error:

 

"A connection to the deployment share (\\192.168.1.***\MDTDEploy$) could not be made. Connection OK. Possible cause invalid credentials."

 

My Bootstrap.ini looks like this. I am using a local admin account on the deployment server.

 

[Settings]
Priority=Default

[Default]
DeployRoot=\\192.168.1.***\MDTDeploy$
UserID=MDT
UserDomain=WDS
UserPassword=******

 

I have tried a local admin account, a domin account in bootstrap.ini but everytime I get the same error. The deploy share has the appropriate permissions for the local user and domain user account.

 

The server is Windows 2012 R2 Datacenter. It has the WDS role installed. This server is in part of our domain.

 

Any ideas ? Thanks.



#35 anyweb

anyweb

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 7,251 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Deploying Operating systems and more with System Center Configuration Manager

Posted 19 February 2015 - 09:36 PM

do you have a valid ip address when it fails ?


Microsoft MVP > Enterprise Client Management
My linkedin profile at > linkedin.com
Follow me on Twitter > ncbrady
Follow windowsnoob.com on Twitter > windowsnoob
My blog

#36 pk@ianz

pk@ianz

    Newbie

  • Established Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 February 2015 - 08:54 PM

Yes the machine has a valid IP address. I can browse to the deployment share from the surface as well.



#37 anyweb

anyweb

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 7,251 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Deploying Operating systems and more with System Center Configuration Manager

Posted 23 February 2015 - 09:21 PM

well if it's a local user then why are you specificying a domain ? try inputting the server ip there instead


Microsoft MVP > Enterprise Client Management
My linkedin profile at > linkedin.com
Follow me on Twitter > ncbrady
Follow windowsnoob.com on Twitter > windowsnoob
My blog

#38 pk@ianz

pk@ianz

    Newbie

  • Established Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 February 2015 - 01:27 AM

Hi Niall,

 

I used the IP address this time but I got the same error.

 

Here is how the BootStrap.ini looks like.

 

[Settings]
Priority=Default

[Default]
DeployRoot=\\192.168.1.232\MDTDeploy$
UserID=MDT
UserDomain=192.168.1.232
UserPassword=********

 

The surface is getting a valid IP address from the DHCP server. Are there logs stored somewhere which can shed some light regarding this issue ?



#39 anyweb

anyweb

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 7,251 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Deploying Operating systems and more with System Center Configuration Manager

Posted 24 February 2015 - 07:12 AM

have you checked the C:\MININT\SMSOSD\OSDLOGS\bdd.log yet ?

it should contain lines explaining what is wrong

 

have you verified that not only are you updating the MDT deploymemt share but that you are also updating the boot wim stored in WDS, as updating the deployment share does not do this for you and it'll use your old bootstrap.ini until you do

open Windows Deployment Services, go to the Boot Images folder, right click and then Replace the current boot image with the one just rebuilt.


Microsoft MVP > Enterprise Client Management
My linkedin profile at > linkedin.com
Follow me on Twitter > ncbrady
Follow windowsnoob.com on Twitter > windowsnoob
My blog

#40 pk@ianz

pk@ianz

    Newbie

  • Established Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 26 February 2015 - 02:35 AM

I found out the issue. I was not injecting the ethernet drivers and that was causing the deployment to fail. Although the surface was connected to wi-fi and I was able to access the deployment share but the deployment process needed Ethernet connection to go forward.

 

The error message regarding the invalid credentials is a bit misleading. But it's all sorted now. Thanks.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users