Jump to content


jeaostro

How to install Lenovo Software and Drivers with Update Retriever and SCCM during OS deployment

Recommended Posts

Ok we are testing Win7 to deploy and I'm also into the Thininstaller thing. It works when I launch the command-line manually but not through task sequence.

I saw in the c:\programdata\lenovo\%computername%installation.txt that all needed packages were installed but this is when it's done manually.

Every access is good but it doesn't install with TS.

 

It's Win7 ENT x64

 

*The copy is working fine. (to C:\Windows\ThinIsnt)

*The command-line I use is:

"cmd.exe /c thininstaller.exe /CM -search A -action INSTALL -repository \\10.156.253.14\drivers -noicon -includerebootpackages 1,2,3,4 -noreboot"

Starting in; "C:\Windows\ThinInst"

Time-out; 45 minutes

Run as user; domain\sccm administrator

 

 

If it works manually then you know the syntax is right. But you do not need to enter "run as user"?? It will run as the system user by default.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Working dir 'C:\Program Files (x86)\ThinInstaller ???

Do you copy the thininstaller files(already extracted?) or the thininstaller.exe installation file?

Have you tried to copy it to c:\Lenovo\

 

Create a task for the thininstaller step(copy and run), and then advertise this task to an up and running computer. then you dont waste so much time doing an OS deployment every time you try and fail.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Working dir 'C:\Program Files (x86)\ThinInstaller ???

Do you copy the thininstaller files(already extracted?) or the thininstaller.exe installation file?

Have you tried to copy it to c:\Lenovo\

 

Create a task for the thininstaller step(copy and run), and then advertise this task to an up and running computer. then you dont waste so much time doing an OS deployment every time you try and fail.

 

I tried by copying the whole extracted ThinInstaller folder to "Program Files (x86)" but now I'm copying it to '%systemdrive%\ThinInst'.

 

Did you ever ran this successfully in Win7 x64?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

and what did you do to solve it ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

and what did you do to solve it ?

 

I tried a lot of thing on 3 days but finally I managed to see through the smoke :rolleyes:

 

What was failing was that the network share isn't accessible because the program (egather) is using the framework library. For that you must set a rule like %WINDIR%\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\CasPol.exe -pp off -m -ag 1.2 -url file://\\server\share\ FullTrust

 

(Also I did it on ip address and not on netbios name)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also in the "start in section" it should say: c:\lenovo\thininstaller\

 

Awesome thanks man

 

Ive been smashing it for the last 2 days and havent had much luck.

Ive got it to a point and wondering if anyone can shed some light .. im betting its easy but the coffee headache is preventing me from seeing it.

 

2 Tasks has been created as per screenshots

Both kick off and the TS goes through all ok.

 

I can see a c:\lenovo\thininstall folder .. so they are running.

When checking to see if the drivers have been installed, they havent.

So after much digging, I ran this on the workstation just to shortcut me rebuilding machines all the time for testing.

 

thininstaller.exe /CM -search C -action LIST

 

and I get the error - No packages applicable for your system were found.

 

The make and model of machine im using is a Lenovo MT-M 7359 -D7M

 

So back to Update retriever I go

In Update Retriever I can see I have a MT of 7359, OS of Windows 7 and Language of English

 

(Ive also done the same thing with a Lenovo Thinkstation E20 M222 25M, so there is something overall wrong here)

 

Ive checked the local logs on the machines in the c:\lenovo\thininstaller\logs\bla bla bla ...

After checking all of these I can see the following.

 

Info 2010-11-04 , 02:21:17

at Tvsu.Engine.Process.HelloProcess.Start()

Message: MTM is: 422225M

 

Info 2010-11-04 , 02:21:17

at Tvsu.Engine.Process.HelloProcess.Start()

Message: Data to be set in the Environment Manager to use with Quest:

QOS (Quest OS): Windows 7

QOSLang (Quest language): EN

MTM: 422225M

 

Info 2010-11-04 , 02:21:17

at Tvsu.Engine.Task.Task.Start()

Message: Executing the PostProcess HelloProcess

 

 

 

I can see the MTM as 42225M ... unsure of that?

 

So im not sure here .. I cant add a 422225M into Update Retriever as it only wants a 4222 and likewise with the 7359, could this be the discrepancy?

 

MY server share is full of packages .. so they have downloaded them .. and they exist ..

09/02/2010 04:11 PM <DIR> 5cjy63usa

11/03/2010 03:22 PM <DIR> 5cjy66usa

11/04/2010 11:14 AM <DIR> 5jjy50usa

09/02/2010 04:10 PM <DIR> a1chp06us17

09/02/2010 04:04 PM <DIR> a1mie01us17_ps2

09/02/2010 04:14 PM <DIR> a1mie01us17_usb

09/02/2010 04:04 PM <DIR> a1par08us13

09/02/2010 04:12 PM <DIR> a1rau07us17

09/02/2010 04:11 PM <DIR> a3amt09us17_heci

09/02/2010 04:11 PM <DIR> a3amt09us17_lms

11/04/2010 11:14 AM <DIR> b2vdo11us13

11/04/2010 11:17 AM <DIR> b2vdo11us14

 

 

....etc

 

So i think the crux of this is a mismatch between what it thinks it is ... and what it actually is .. but how i nut that out is evading me at the moment.

 

time to dilute coffee with water

 

Any help on this would be awesome .. thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

time to dilute coffee with water

 

Any help on this would be awesome .. thanks

 

Looks like water did the trick! .. splash that on a few machines and im off home!

 

NAH .. two things ..

i was only checking for Critical Updates with a -C

and im an idiot with Update Retriever .. gotta set all packages from test to Active

 

Thanks for letting me rant

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Looks like water did the trick! .. splash that on a few machines and im off home!

 

NAH .. two things ..

i was only checking for Critical Updates with a -C

and im an idiot with Update Retriever .. gotta set all packages from test to Active

 

Thanks for letting me rant

 

hehehe, nice to see you got it working :-) the status "test" is a fun one, done the same a couple of times ;) In the settings change that the default is not test but active.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

hehehe, nice to see you got it working :-) the status "test" is a fun one, done the same a couple of times ;) In the settings change that the default is not test but active.

 

 

Just when i think its all ok .. I SWEAR IT WAS WORKING, but now its dead in the ass.

 

Ive spent all day trying to narrow this down.

 

In short, works fine when the OS (Win 7 x86) is up and running

Doesnt work in the TS

 

 

With the 422225M I had to whack an ethernet driver on the boot image because it needed it. Which is the only driver in SCCM.

 

I tried out the .NET framework suggestions mentioned above, but I just noticed the version mismatch. (didnt work for me anyway)

 

 

Whats concerning me is the statement in the log ---

"The database file wasn't found, or is not valid in \\PTHSVRSCCM01\Drivers_Lenovo\ message:The specified network name is no longer available"

 

Which is a load of rubbish .. the server is there and stable, and the xml file is there, and it works outside of the TS

 

Ive tried it on IP

Ive tried it on different models of lenovo

Ive tried batch filing it

Ive tried packaging it

Im about to try a red hot poker in its eyeball ..

 

I cant believe its giving me such a hard time .. and i definately saw it work once .. but ive made so many changes ..

 

any light would be fantastic.... (partial logs below)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Update Log from c:\ThinInst\logs

 

Error 1:

 

Info 2010-11-09 , 05:31:16

at Tvsu.CommandLine.CommandLineParameters.SearchForUpdates()

Message: Notify method: INSTALL

 

Severe 2010-11-09 , 05:31:16

at Tvsu.Sdk.SuSdk.StartApplication()

Message: Application runs with the framework: 2.0.50727.4927

 

Info 2010-11-09 , 05:31:16

at Tvsu.Engine.DataBase.InitializeDataBase()

Message: Initializing the DataBase from file: updates.ser

 

 

Error 2:

Info 2010-11-09 , 05:31:16

at Tvsu.Engine.Process.HelpCenterIndexRepositoryProcess.PreProcess()

Message: 'Share name' to use: \\PTHSVRSCCM01\Drivers_Lenovo\

 

Info 2010-11-09 , 05:31:16

at Tvsu.Engine.Task.Task.Start()

Message: Executing the StartProcess HelpCenterIndexRepositoryProcess

 

Info 2010-11-09 , 05:31:16

at Tvt.LocalRepositoryDatabase.LocalRepositoryDatabaseManager.GetDescriptors(String shareName, String mtm, String os, String oslang, String agent, Boolean bValidateLocalRepository)

Message: Received data -> ShareName: \\PTHSVRSCCM01\Drivers_Lenovo\, Agent:

 

Info 2010-11-09 , 05:31:16

at Tvsu.Engine.Process.HelpCenterIndexRepositoryProcess.LaunchEgather()

Message: Launching Egather

 

Info 2010-11-09 , 05:31:16

at Tvsu.Egather.EgatherManager.GetEgatherParser(String type)

Message: Running egather complete.....

 

Info 2010-11-09 , 05:31:16

at Tvt.LocalRepositoryDatabase.LocalRepositoryDatabaseManager.GetDescrips(String shareName, String mtm, String os, String oslang, String agent, Boolean bValidateLocalRepository)

Message: No database.xml file found. The application will start searching folders for updates.

 

Severe 2010-11-09 , 05:31:16

at Tvt.LocalRepositoryDatabase.LocalRepositoryDatabaseManager.GetDescrips(String shareName, String mtm, String os, String oslang, String agent, Boolean bValidateLocalRepository)

Message: The database file wasn't found, or is not valid in \\PTHSVRSCCM01\Drivers_Lenovo\ message:The specified network name is no longer available.

 

 

Severe 2010-11-09 , 05:31:16

at Tvt.LocalRepositoryDatabase.LocalRepositoryDatabaseManager.GetDescriptors(String shareName, String mtm, String os, String oslang, String agent, Boolean bValidateLocalRepository)

Message: An exception occurred when getting descriptors from \\PTHSVRSCCM01\Drivers_Lenovo\

 

Severe 2010-11-09 , 05:31:16

at Tvsu.Engine.Process.HelpCenterIndexRepositoryProcess._Start()

Message: An enception ocurred while getting the candidate updates list from the local repository

 

Severe 2010-11-09 , 05:31:16

at Tvsu.Engine.Task.Task.StartExecution()

Message: An error occurred while the task: ApplicableUpdatesTask executed the process: HelpCenterIndexRepositoryProcessthe message from exception isThe database file wasn't found, or is not valid

Exception:

Message: The database file wasn't found, or is not valid

Type: Tvt.Helpcenter.LocalRepositoryIndexProcessor.LocalRepositoryDatabaseException

at Tvsu.Engine.Task.Task.Start()

at Tvsu.Engine.Task.Task.StartExecution()

 

Severe 2010-11-09 , 05:31:16

at Tvsu.CommandLine.CommandLineParameters.StartCommanLineParameters(String[] arguments)

Message: Error on command line parameters

Exception:

Message: The database file wasn't found, or is not valid

Type: Tvt.Helpcenter.LocalRepositoryIndexProcessor.LocalRepositoryDatabaseException

at Tvsu.Engine.Task.Task.StartExecution()

at Tvsu.Sdk.SuSdk.GetApplicableUpdates(searchingFolderDelegate spd, showErrMsgDelegate sed)

at Tvsu.CommandLine.CommandLineParameters.SearchForUpdates()

at Tvsu.CommandLine.CommandLineParameters.StartCommanLineParameters(String[] arguments)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

how can I disable the Licence Agreement Window during the SCCM Deployment using PXE Boot ?

 

 

are you talking about window which prompt to accept the license aggrement when deploying win7 if am not wrong ? If so, win 7 OS which is not ultimate Edition like enterprise or someother,you will not see any prompt to ask for License aggrement until you provide the correct product key in Task sequene since Enterprise etc edition will not have Product Key(they are activated Via KMS OR MAK)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

are you talking about window which prompt to accept the license aggrement when deploying win7 if am not wrong ? If so, win 7 OS which is not ultimate Edition like enterprise or someother,you will not see any prompt to ask for License aggrement until you provide the correct product key in Task sequene since Enterprise etc edition will not have Product Key(they are activated Via KMS OR MAK)

 

Yes, thats what I'm talking about!

We are using Win7 Enterp... I have to enter the Produkt Key in the Task Sequence "Apply Windows Settings"???

I havn't entered a Produkt Key yet. So I hope, thats the solution for my problem. :)

 

Will try it!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

are you talking about window which prompt to accept the license aggrement when deploying win7 if am not wrong ? If so, win 7 OS which is not ultimate Edition like enterprise or someother,you will not see any prompt to ask for License aggrement until you provide the correct product key in Task sequene since Enterprise etc edition will not have Product Key(they are activated Via KMS OR MAK)

 

hmm.... doesnt work.... :((

In my TaskSequence I added the Produkt Key in Step "Apply Windows Settings"... Server licensing is "Do not Specify".

 

The Enterprise version is a MAK version!

 

any ideas

 

and the driver installation exit with an error.... but at least, all driver are installed... ?! wtf?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm looking in to using this with MDT (no SCCM). Does anyone know if it is possible? How do you set the timeout in MDT?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just when i think its all ok .. I SWEAR IT WAS WORKING, but now its dead in the ass.

 

 

 

Right .. the problem with this rubbish is totally misleading error messages .. till you wake up at 3:30 am thinking .. I wonder if the permissions on the share are ok?

 

Too many cooks in the kitchen.

 

It was a permissions error on the share .. no access .. All working now!

 

Onto the next batch of errors now ... client errors, packaging vs2010 errors .. its endless

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi @ all...

 

I cant solve my problem... everytime the Licence Agreement Screen pops up and my Task Sequence stops.

 

I attached a screenshot!

 

How can I prompt automaticly the Licence Agreement!

post-5880-12904249939248_thumb.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I cant seem to get this to work correctly. it goes through and doesnt error out but when i go and check the device manager none of the drivers were installed. any ideas?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jeff K:

check update retriver, what is the status of your updates? If they are test you should change to Active.

 

I have the strangest problem with this solution:

On some T410 machines, the xcopy command will fail with error code 4, followed by an error message in the same OS language as the installed OS, indicating that the error is on the computer, not within SCCM. If I run the xcopy command manually, it runs just fine. On all other models it runs just fine and is working very good and as mentioned earlier the problem just occurs on some of the T410.

 

The error code 4 in Xcopy states: "4 - Initialization error (not enough memory, invalid syntax, path not found)"

But none of those seems to be making any sense, since it works on other machines and the fact that its poosible to run the command manually at the same time as the TS is failing.

 

Any idead?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi all,

hope someone can help.

 

The Driver Update via Thininstaller and SCCM Tasksequenz is working, but is very slow. I think it is so slow because all Thininstaller log lines were pass throuh to the SMSTS.log.

It means the SMSTS.log has the same content as the Thininstaller log. This makes the task very very slow. If I run the Thininstaller manually with the same command line (without TaskSequenz), it is fast as expected.

 

Any ideas?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi All,

 

Firstly thank you all for your previous thread have been very helpful.

 

Im having the below issue and I cant seem to work out the reason why?

 

Below taken from log file on test machine

 

-------------------------------------------------

2011-06-20 , 04:00:26

at Tvsu.Gui.FlowScreens.Messages.ShowStaticMessage(String message, String title, String mastheadtext, MessageType t, Boolean check)

Message: Showing QUESTION Message: < One or more of the packages you selected to install will restart your system. It is recommended that you save any pending work. Do you want to proceed with the installation now? >

 

Severe 2011-06-20 , 04:00:26

at Tvsu.CommandLine.CommandLineParameters.StartCommanLineParameters(String[] arguments)

Message: Error on command line parameters

Exception:

Message: Showing a modal dialog box or form when the application is not running in UserInteractive mode is not a valid operation. Specify the ServiceNotification or DefaultDesktopOnly style to display a notification from a service application.

Type: System.InvalidOperationException

at System.Windows.Forms.Form.ShowDialog(IWin32Window owner)

at System.Windows.Forms.Form.ShowDialog()

at Tvsu.Gui.FlowScreens.Messages.ShowStaticMessage(String message, String title, String mastheadtext, MessageType t, Boolean check)

at Tvsu.CommandLine.CommandLineParameters.StartCommanLineParameters(String[] arguments)

 

Info 2011-06-20 , 04:00:26

at Tvsu.CommandLine.CommandLineParameters.StartCommanLineParameters(String[] arguments)

Message: Installation succeeded, and reboot been suppressed

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Im pushing at the updates via a task sequence as we have Bitlocker enabled so the task sequence is as follows:

 

1) Copy Thininstaller to target machine

 

cmd.exe /c xcopy.exe \\SCCM01LONUK\SMSPKGD$\LON00076\*.* c:\lenovo\thininstaller\ /E /D

 

2) Disable Bitlocker

 

3) Run "Install Software" Action (this is a batch file which I packaged, command line of bat file below)

 

cmd.exe /c c:\lenovo\thininstaller\thininstaller.exe /CM -search A -action INSTALL -repository "\\hlpapp01prd\TVSU2" -noicon -includerebootpackages 0,1,2,3,4 -noreboot

 

4) Enable Bitlocker

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

I can succesfully get SCCM to copy the thininstaller files over to the target machine, it disables bitlocker fine, and even kicks of the batch file but will not execute the install for the updates because SCCM is suppressing the below Lenovo window, so it just stops and re-enables bitlocker

 

"One or more of the packages you selected to install will restart your system. It is recommended that you save any pending work. Do you want to proceed with the installation now?"

 

I have unticked the following options in SCCM to try and resolve already

 

1) Program - Advanced Tab - Removed Tick from Suppress Program Notification

2) Program - General Tab - Run: Normal (changed from hidden)

 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

I know the bat file work because if I run it manually it works without any issues and the popup come up you click YES and off it goes.

 

It just will not work via SCCM

 

PLEASE PLEASE HELP!

 

Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Dexter31,depending on the security you use on your AD you may never be able to get this working during OSD. We are CIS compiant and this will not work on our network, we have to run this after the image has completed and an authenticated user has logged onto the machine.

 

When you are running this on the machine manually are you using the default Administrator/local account or is this an authenticated domain account? In our business the Lenovo ThinInstaller will not work through any account unless it is a domain account and this is due to CIS (Center for Internet Security) baseline settings. I have never taken the time to go through the settings to see which one is blocking. When I test this in our test domain with no security it works and when the exact same thing is tried on our production enviroment it fails. You will need to go through the security logs of the machine the repository is on and see if this is what is blocking causing the updater to fail.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello

 

You might get this message pop up because one of you packages forces a reboot. In update Retriever look if any of the packages has the reboot type: Forces a reboot. Try to set these packages in Status Test, and run a deployment. Please let me know if it works.

 

 

 

Hi All,

 

Firstly thank you all for your previous thread have been very helpful.

 

Im having the below issue and I cant seem to work out the reason why?

 

Below taken from log file on test machine

 

-------------------------------------------------

2011-06-20 , 04:00:26

at Tvsu.Gui.FlowScreens.Messages.ShowStaticMessage(String message, String title, String mastheadtext, MessageType t, Boolean check)

Message: Showing QUESTION Message: < One or more of the packages you selected to install will restart your system. It is recommended that you save any pending work. Do you want to proceed with the installation now? >

 

Severe 2011-06-20 , 04:00:26

at Tvsu.CommandLine.CommandLineParameters.StartCommanLineParameters(String[] arguments)

Message: Error on command line parameters

Exception:

Message: Showing a modal dialog box or form when the application is not running in UserInteractive mode is not a valid operation. Specify the ServiceNotification or DefaultDesktopOnly style to display a notification from a service application.

Type: System.InvalidOperationException

at System.Windows.Forms.Form.ShowDialog(IWin32Window owner)

at System.Windows.Forms.Form.ShowDialog()

at Tvsu.Gui.FlowScreens.Messages.ShowStaticMessage(String message, String title, String mastheadtext, MessageType t, Boolean check)

at Tvsu.CommandLine.CommandLineParameters.StartCommanLineParameters(String[] arguments)

 

Info 2011-06-20 , 04:00:26

at Tvsu.CommandLine.CommandLineParameters.StartCommanLineParameters(String[] arguments)

Message: Installation succeeded, and reboot been suppressed

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Im pushing at the updates via a task sequence as we have Bitlocker enabled so the task sequence is as follows:

 

1) Copy Thininstaller to target machine

 

cmd.exe /c xcopy.exe \\SCCM01LONUK\SMSPKGD$\LON00076\*.* c:\lenovo\thininstaller\ /E /D

 

2) Disable Bitlocker

 

3) Run "Install Software" Action (this is a batch file which I packaged, command line of bat file below)

 

cmd.exe /c c:\lenovo\thininstaller\thininstaller.exe /CM -search A -action INSTALL -repository "\\hlpapp01prd\TVSU2" -noicon -includerebootpackages 0,1,2,3,4 -noreboot

 

4) Enable Bitlocker

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

I can succesfully get SCCM to copy the thininstaller files over to the target machine, it disables bitlocker fine, and even kicks of the batch file but will not execute the install for the updates because SCCM is suppressing the below Lenovo window, so it just stops and re-enables bitlocker

 

"One or more of the packages you selected to install will restart your system. It is recommended that you save any pending work. Do you want to proceed with the installation now?"

 

I have unticked the following options in SCCM to try and resolve already

 

1) Program - Advanced Tab - Removed Tick from Suppress Program Notification

2) Program - General Tab - Run: Normal (changed from hidden)

 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

I know the bat file work because if I run it manually it works without any issues and the popup come up you click YES and off it goes.

 

It just will not work via SCCM

 

PLEASE PLEASE HELP!

 

Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Are you selecting MS updates too in the Update Retriever because these updates cannot be used as they need manual input. I remember that I had a driver issue, I think it was Intel Pro nic drivers that rebooted the computer when the TS was still running.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi There"

I receive the same error code in TS Failed to run the action: Run thininstaller. Incorrect function. (Error: 00000001; Source: Windows), but install the Lenovo Drivers no problem, but in task sequence ask for a reboot,and it doesn't and there is pop up saying Windows require reboot.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...

×
×
  • Create New...