bingyeo

'Windows could not display the images available for installation'! as well as several other questions regarding WDS

Question

Hi

I am a newbie at using WDS (and no experience in using RIS as well) and I have a rack of old servers to deploy W2k3R2SP2DC edition to. The rack consists of a HP DL380 with an optical drive, and the rest of the servers are HP DL140 with no optical drive. Right now, I have installed OS on DL380, but the other servers still have Linux on them and I would like to wipe them out.

To cut the long story short, I used the DL380 as my reference computer, and set up a virtual machine on my laptop running W2k3Enterprise. On the virtual machine is WDS, AD, DNS and DHCP, and I am using it as the WDS server.

Capturing of the image on DL380 seemed successful, and I moved on to the Deployment walkthrough (http://www.windows-noob.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=264&hl=).

After creating the deploy.wim and booting to PXE on the same DL380, I was able to see the Install Windows (on Windows PE? still a little confused on what WinPE actually is) screens.

I was able to login to the domain and select my image, but alas, 'Windows could not display the images available for installation'.

Note that this is the same machine which I had previously captured the OS from, so hardware issues shouldn't be causing this?

My questions are:

Does WDS even support W2k3DC edition images?

Also, will there I able to deploy images to servers of different hardware? If not, any suggestions on how I might go about doing the installation of OS on the DL140s as I don't have any ready images for deployment?

Sorry if my questions sound really fundamental but I have really limited experience in image deployments, having never used WDS/RIS before.

Cheers

6 answers to this question

hi and welcome

i'll try and answer your questions,

Does WDS even support W2k3DC edition images?
it should work just fine