jkeck

Capturing question

Question

Hello, love the site, lots of good information....

Firstly, I'm new to SCCM 2007 and I've been tasked with deploying Win 7 Pro across our company to the remote sites of which there are many.

I work in our corporate offices and have been installing/upgrading our users to Windows 7 as machines are replaced. I used WAIK to create a bootable UFD and have been using that to install a custom WIM that I created and captured using Win7's native sysprep. My custom .WIM files contain user/role-specific software packages. I have multiple installs based on departmental requirements and some of them even use the unattended.xml files to configure the machine with very little hands-on work.

My question: Is capturing a 7 Pro image using SCCM a requirement for being able to deploy 7 Pro?

4 answers to this question

okay, so then i guess i'm a little confused as to how the tutorial would change for someone who already has a customized .wim file that is ready to be deployed. I was reading the tutorial at http://www.windows-n...ploy-windows-7/ and trying to figure out where the process would ultimately differ... if i copy the files that i'm currently using to install windows 7 pro manually, then all the files i would want to distribute/deploy would be included in that folder.

Is there a tutorial of how to create a deployment of Windows 7 using just the standard default OS files that would have been included on an original install dvd or in the iso that i can get from Microsoft?

having to spend the extra time to configure SCCM to capture a pc when i already have a custom .wim is me duplicating some of the work i've aleady done.

maybe i'm not being clear enough with my question, let me try again.

Here's what I've done so far...

1. I loaded windows 7 pro sp1 onto a test computer.

2. I configured it with all the custom software, applications, drivers, etc.