Jump to content


Recommended Posts

Hi,

 

I have moved the lcoation of user profiles to the D drive.

 

Can I use WDS to deploy Windows to the C drive and the Profiles to the D drive?

 

Thanks

P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Have you done this before you captured the image?

 

You are not able to deploy Windows to the C drive and the Profiles to the D drive. You can deploy Windows and after deploying it you can move the Profiles location, you can probably even do this as a part of the deployment process as long as your drive letters are set in the WDS Unattended file and the profile locations in the image unattended file.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's not that complicated. The easiest way i have found is to capture your image without the user profiles moved, deploy it into audit mode then sysprep the system again from an elevated command line:

 

 

C:\Windows\System32\Sysprep\Sysprep /quiet /oobe /shutdown /unattend:C:\Windows\OOBE\Relocate.xml

 

Make sure you close the Sysprep Window that always shows up in Audit mode before running the command or it will fail. And remember to put the .xml file in the correct folder when you're in Audit mode.

 

When the user first starts the system it will relocate the user folder before the user goes through the OOBE process.

Relocate.xml

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks bttag.

 

If I could ask your advice on one more thing. In the answer fiel I currenlty have it setup to create the C drive at x size. Is it possible to tell it to also create the D drive but to take up the rest of the dirve space rather than stating an exact size?

 

Thanks again

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes it is:

 

As an example here is a legacy (MBR) partition layout:

 

 

 

<DiskConfiguration>
                <Disk wcm:action="add">
                    <CreatePartitions>
                        <CreatePartition wcm:action="add">
                            <Order>1</Order>
                            <Type>Primary</Type>
                            <Size>12000</Size>
                        </CreatePartition>
                        <CreatePartition wcm:action="add">
                            <Order>2</Order>
                            <Type>Primary</Type>
                            <Size>300</Size>
                        </CreatePartition>
                        <CreatePartition wcm:action="add">
                            <Order>3</Order>
                            <Type>Primary</Type>
                            <Extend>false</Extend>
                            <Size>102400</Size>
                        </CreatePartition>
                        <CreatePartition wcm:action="add">
                            <Extend>true</Extend>
                            <Order>4</Order>
                            <Type>Primary</Type>
                        </CreatePartition>
                    </CreatePartitions>
                    <ModifyPartitions>
                        <ModifyPartition wcm:action="add">
                            <Order>1</Order>
                            <PartitionID>1</PartitionID>
                            <Label>Recovery</Label>
                            <Format>NTFS</Format>
                            <TypeID>0x27</TypeID>
                        </ModifyPartition>
                        <ModifyPartition wcm:action="add">
                            <Order>2</Order>
                            <PartitionID>2</PartitionID>
                            <Label>System</Label>
                            <Format>NTFS</Format>
                            <Active>true</Active>
                        </ModifyPartition>
                        <ModifyPartition wcm:action="add">
                            <Order>3</Order>
                            <PartitionID>3</PartitionID>
                            <Label>Windows</Label>
                            <Format>NTFS</Format>
                            <Letter>C</Letter>
                        </ModifyPartition>
                        <ModifyPartition wcm:action="add">
                            <Format>NTFS</Format>
                            <Label>Data</Label>
                            <Letter>D</Letter>
                            <Order>4</Order>
                            <PartitionID>4</PartitionID>
                        </ModifyPartition>
                    </ModifyPartitions>
                    <DiskID>0</DiskID>
                    <WillWipeDisk>true</WillWipeDisk>
                </Disk>
                <WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>
            </DiskConfiguration>

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Specifically, the setting <Extend>True</Extend> is what makes the partition use the remaining space. The Extend page from the Unattended Windows Setup Reference explains this in detail. Also, setting this as ‘False’ on other partitions is not necessary, as False is the default value.

 

Hope this helps,

 

David

Windows Outreach Team – IT Pro

The Springboard Series on TechNet

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...

×
×
  • Create New...