Jump to content


We use cookies to let you log in, for ads and for analytics. OK

Photo

Inventoried Software empty (need assistance)





  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 hlee

hlee

    Member

  • Established Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 November 2014 - 07:33 PM

I need some assistance on troubleshooting why my Inventoried Software are empty.  I have done the following more than 7 days ago, and I'm still not seeing anything under my Inventoried Software, nor under my Asset Resource Explorer (Both Hardware and Software are empty).

My setup: SCCM 2012 R2 installed on a Server 2012 R2 Standard OS, VM Environment, and SQL is installed on a separate server running SQL 2008 R2.

 

1. Enable Software Inventory in Client Settings, added Inventory these file types "*.exe, *.dll, *.pst" , schedule software inventory and file collection every 7 days.

2. Enable Hardware Inventory in Client Settings, change/enable Set Classes for "Installed Applications (64), Installed Applications (Win32Reg), Installed Executable, and Installed Software.  Schedule hardware inventory schedule every 7 days.

3. Installed Asset Intelligence Synchronization point, and then enable ALL the Asset Intelligence reporting classes.  Synchronization is on a schedule every 7 days.

4. Checking the InventoryAgent.log on client' computer, and the only thing related to "SMS_InstalledSoftware" is this line:

Collection: Namespace = \\.\root\cimv2\sms; Query = SELECT __CLASS, __PATH, __RELPATH, ARPDisplayName, ChannelCode, ChannelID, CM_DSLID, EvidenceSource, InstallDate, InstallDirectoryValidation, InstalledLocation, InstallSource, InstallType, Language, LocalPackage, MPC, OsComponent, PackageCode, ProductID, ProductName, ProductVersion, Publisher, RegisteredUser, ServicePack, SoftwareCode, SoftwarePropertiesHash, SoftwarePropertiesHashEx, UninstallString, UpgradeCode, VersionMajor, VersionMinor FROM SMS_InstalledSoftware; Timeout = 600 secs.

 

The Timeout = 600 secs is not normal right?

I have attached my InventoryAgent.log for reference.

 

Is there anything I can try to make it work?  Thanks in advance!

Attached Files





#2 hlee

hlee

    Member

  • Established Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 November 2014 - 10:15 PM

Update:  I noticed I was getting lots of BITS errors in IIS Log, so following this suggestion:

http://www.windows-n...-501-iis-error/

 

and reinstalled my Management Point.  After it was reinstalled, I can run the report now and view data from report.  The Resource Explorer are also working, and I can see hardware/software information.

 

But my Asset Intelligence > Inventoried Software are still empty.  Not sure what else to check now..



#3 hlee

hlee

    Member

  • Established Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 November 2014 - 03:24 PM

Update: after waiting overnight, now the Asset Intelligence > Inventoried Software are showing up.  I believe the main fix for my issue was reinstalling MP. 



#4 GarthMJ

GarthMJ

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Posted 23 November 2014 - 04:40 PM

FYI I never recommend enabling SW inv. http://be.enhansoft....-SCCM-2012.aspx


  • newadmsccm likes this

Garth Jones

Enhancing Your Business 

Blog

 


#5 jorlando

jorlando

    Advanced Member

  • Established Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Mexico, USA

Posted 01 December 2014 - 04:48 PM

I disable the inventory throttle. I have a business need for a pretty extensive software inventory, and it still runs in < 5 minutes. Its worth noting that the performance impact on the machine during the inventory is not noticable. Here is a link for more information: http://myitforum.com...ory-throttling/

 

James



#6 GarthMJ

GarthMJ

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Posted 01 December 2014 - 05:18 PM

I would love to hear what the business requirement is to have SW inv enable and even more so why it needs to be less than 5 minutes.


Garth Jones

Enhancing Your Business 

Blog

 


#7 GarthMJ

GarthMJ

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Posted 01 December 2014 - 08:17 PM

I re-read this post and it look like I need more coffee.. :-) I still "hate" SW inventory and think no one should use it but...


Garth Jones

Enhancing Your Business 

Blog

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users