SLoup

Problem creating image from Windows 7

Question

Hello all.

I am new at using WDS, so please bear that in mind. I have a Dell Laptop, Windows 7 x64 on it. I have WDS set up on a Server 2003. I have successfully imaged XP and Vista machines, and pushed the images onto other PCs.

Two questions:

1: I am trying to capture an image from the Dell. When I PXE boot it (is that the correct term?), I see Vista as an option to select, but don't see Microsoft Windows Setup (x64). I do have that as an option in my WDS boot images.

So, why is this happening? I created an image using Vista, it ran with no errors. I haven't pushed it out to another laptop, yet.

2: When I PXE booted, I wanted to save the image to my server. Couldn't do it, the local machine could not see the server, I had to save the image onto the Dell's hard drive.

Ideas? Questions? I know that I can only run Sysprep three times, so I haven't done much experimentation.

Thanks for your help,

Scott

1 answer to this question

For your first question, PXE booting loads a boot image based on Windows PE. For Windows 7, a new boot image should be created from the version of Windows PE on the Windows 7 disc (boot.wim). Likewise, the capture image should be built from this Windows 7 boot image.

For the second question, this TechNet article states that you must enter a local location to capture the image. This is a requirement that is enforced to avoid image corruption.

One way to avoid the limitation on sysprep is to build your reference images in a virtual machine and take a snapshot before running sysprep. This way you have a non-sysprepped version saved in case you have problems. Another way is to run sysprep with an unattend file that has the skiprearm setting enabled.