surfincow

OSD & PXE: BIOS/UEFI and SecureBoot

Hello,

I've been doing PXE boot installs for Windows 7 for the past year and everything works fine. With the move to Windows 10 (x64), we plan to use UEFI rather than BIOS and also enable Secure Boot.

I started playing with this today, and on my test machine, enabled UEFI, disabled Legacy ROM support and enabled SecureBoot. When I started the machine, it failed to download the boot image stating "pxe operating system loader failed signature verification. warning the file may have been tampered with". I decided to skip secure boot for the time being and focus on UEFI.

When I pxe boot using UEFI, the screen displays:

checking media presence,

media present,

start oxe over IPv4

The screen briefly flashes "Succeeded to download NBP file (this message goes by so fast the only way to see it was to make a video and pause at the point where it showed up. Image was blurry so NBP could be the wrong letters)

then

checking media presence,

media present,

start oxe over IPv6

finally goes to No Bootable devices found.

I've never been able to find clear and consistant information regarding setting up PXE, DHCP and configuration manager. The way I have it set up is from various articles I've found.

One thing I am unclear about are is, what the correct DHCP options should be.

DHCP is running on a host separate than the distribution point which is running the WDS service.

I have configured DHCP option

66 = fqdn of the configmgr server which is running WDS

67 = smsboot\x64\wdsnbp.com

I also have option 60 configured, which at present, has the IP address to the primary configmgr server. Looking over several documents, I'm not sure if this field is needed. I've seen references that indicate you only need this configured if the DHCP server and WDS server are on the same box. I've also come across another document stating that the value should equal "PXE Client".