Jump to content


We use cookies to let you log in, for ads and for analytics. OK

Photo

The Windows-noob OSD Guides for ConfigMgr 2012 R2 - LabSetup

LabSetup The Windows-noob OSD Guides



  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 gmandar

gmandar

    Newbie

  • Established Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 08 January 2016 - 08:05 AM

Hi Everyone,

 

Happy new Year to Everyone...

I had recently brought the book The Windows-noob OSD Guides for ConfigMgr 2012 R2 by Niall Brady.

Great book to start with.Thanks a ton..

I am having stupid question which I can't resist to ask regarding Internet access in Lab Setup. I am having Windows 10 Pro with Hyper-V enabled for Lab setup.

The issue is the Hydration Kit uses the IP address range of 192.168.1.XXX 

And I am having Wi-Fi Dongle for internet which also provided internet with IP same IP range because of which I can't access internet inside VM while I am testing and unfortunately I can't change that.

 

Because of which I can't test SCCM 2012 Software Update or other topic which needs Internet access while working in LAB.

 

I am using Vyos Router as suggested in book but becaise of conflicting IP range unable to get internet access inside LAB.

 

Any help is greatly appreciated.......

 

Thanks and Regards:

Mandy

 


  • anyweb likes this



#2 anyweb

anyweb

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 7,210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Deploying Operating systems and more with System Center Configuration Manager

Posted 08 January 2016 - 07:02 PM

my advice would be to simply change the range from 192.168.1.xxx to something else like 192.168.2.xxx

 

after all you don't have too many machines to deal with right ? DC+CM+MBAM+virtual machines....

 

i can help you with it if you want (teamviewer)

 

thanks for buying my book ! :-)


Microsoft MVP > Enterprise Client Management
My linkedin profile at > linkedin.com
Follow me on Twitter > ncbrady
Follow windowsnoob.com on Twitter > windowsnoob
My blog

#3 noob2sccm

noob2sccm

    Newbie

  • Established Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 07 January 2017 - 06:10 PM

Hello.

 

I as well recently brought the book off of Amazon called The Windows-noob OSD Guides for ConfigMgr 2012 R2 by Niall Brady. I learned of the Book after attending the last AZSMUG event at Interface Technical Training in Phoenix AZ where I watched 2 very informative and well done presentations by Mike Terril and Johan Arwidmark and at that time I was told about the books and the use of Hydration kits to create home labs so I can get experience and practice for certification.

 

I went right home and purchased your your Book and a 1TB SSD and have a system ready to go with 32GB of RAM. I am running Windows 10 Enterprise and I continuously run into issues with the scripts and  getting the Hydration Kit installs to go smoothly and was hoping I could ask a question about my latest issue.

 

At the following location in the book - Page 415 Step 4 - When I run the "CreateHydrationDeploymentShare.ps1" I get the following red output in my PS window and I am not able to see any deployment shares created in the Deployment Workbench that matches the screenshot in the book on Step 5.

 

New-Item : A parameter cannot be found that matches parameter name 'enable'.

At C:\HydrationNoob\Source\CreateHydrationDeploymentShare.ps1:33 char:31
 Directory: C:\HydrationNoob
 
 
Mode                LastWriteTime         Length Name
----                -------------         ------ ----
d-----         1/7/2017  10:04 AM                DS
add-MDTPersistentDrive : The term 'add-MDTPersistentDrive' is not recognized as the name of a cmdlet, function, script
file, or operable program. Check the spelling of the name, or if a path was included, verify that the path is correct
and try again.
At C:\HydrationNoob\Source\CreateHydrationDeploymentShare.ps1:30 char:173
+ ... \$MDTServer\HydrationNoob$" -Verbose | add-MDTPersistentDrive -Verbos ...
+                                            ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo          : ObjectNotFound: (add-MDTPersistentDrive:String) [], CommandNotFoundException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : CommandNotFoundException
 
 
 
    Directory: C:\HydrationNoob\ISO\Content
 
 
Mode                LastWriteTime         Length Name
----                -------------         ------ ----
d-----         1/7/2017  10:04 AM                Deploy
New-Item : A parameter cannot be found that matches parameter name 'enable'.
At C:\HydrationNoob\Source\CreateHydrationDeploymentShare.ps1:33 char:31
+ new-item -path "DS001:\Media" -enable "True" -Name "MEDIA001" -Commen ...
+                               ~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo          : InvalidArgument: ( :) [New-Item], ParameterBindingException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : NamedParameterNotFound,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.NewItemCommand
 
New-PSDrive : A parameter cannot be found that matches parameter name 'Force'.
At C:\HydrationNoob\Source\CreateHydrationDeploymentShare.ps1:34 char:141
+ ... ntent\Deploy" -Description "Hydration CM2012 R2 Media" -Force -Verbos ...
+                                                            ~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo          : InvalidArgument: ( :) [New-PSDrive], ParameterBindingException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : NamedParameterNotFound,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.NewPSDriveCommand

 

If you had some free time to assist me with how to best get past this issue so I can get the lab setup I would be extremely grateful for your time.

 

Thank you



#4 anyweb

anyweb

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 7,210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Deploying Operating systems and more with System Center Configuration Manager

Posted 07 January 2017 - 08:00 PM

thanks for buying my book, i really appreciate it !

 

the first error is in line 33, this line

new-item -path "DS001:\Media" -enable "True" -Name "MEDIA001" -Comments "" -Root "C:\HydrationNoob\ISO" -SelectionProfile "Everything" -SupportX86 "False" -SupportX64 "True" -GenerateISO "True" -ISOName "HydrationNoob.iso" -Verbose

so did you install MDT 2013 as per the previous step ?

 

if you cannot solve it i'm happy to do a teamviewer session with you and help you fix it

 

cheers

niall


Microsoft MVP > Enterprise Client Management
My linkedin profile at > linkedin.com
Follow me on Twitter > ncbrady
Follow windowsnoob.com on Twitter > windowsnoob
My blog

#5 noob2sccm

noob2sccm

    Newbie

  • Established Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 07 January 2017 - 11:22 PM

Hello and thank you for relying back so quickly. I was not expecting this level of assistance and fast response times.

 

Yes, I installed the MDT 2013 in the order that was instructed in the book. I did this right after running the ADK for 8.1. 

 

I would be happy to let you TeamViewer in to my machine and take a look. 

 

<removed login details>


Edited by anyweb, 08 January 2017 - 10:47 AM.
please dont paste login details publically


#6 noob2sccm

noob2sccm

    Newbie

  • Established Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 07 January 2017 - 11:32 PM

Edited



#7 noob2sccm

noob2sccm

    Newbie

  • Established Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 08 January 2017 - 12:20 AM

<removed login details>


Edited by anyweb, 08 January 2017 - 10:47 AM.
dont place them online like this


#8 noob2sccm

noob2sccm

    Newbie

  • Established Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 08 January 2017 - 12:47 AM

Hi Niall.

 

When you have time to get back to me, can you shoot me a text when you are ready to connect if possible?



#9 anyweb

anyweb

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 7,210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Deploying Operating systems and more with System Center Configuration Manager

Posted 08 January 2017 - 10:48 AM

hi i've removed you login details you should ever post anything like that publicly, anyhow i'm online now (I'm in Europe, Sweden) so GMT+1,

 

send me a mail when you are online and i'll try and connect, i'll pm you my address


Microsoft MVP > Enterprise Client Management
My linkedin profile at > linkedin.com
Follow me on Twitter > ncbrady
Follow windowsnoob.com on Twitter > windowsnoob
My blog

#10 noob2sccm

noob2sccm

    Newbie

  • Established Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 11 January 2017 - 01:36 AM

Hello.

 

On page 15 Item 2 it states that the DC01 should have a ViaMonstra/Users OU. I am not seeing this in my AD Tree on DC01 and I have removed and rehydrated the DC01 Server 3 times now to no avail. I do not get any errors and the Hydration is saying it completes with no issues.

 

Can you assist with correcting this?

 

Thank you



#11 anyweb

anyweb

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 7,210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Deploying Operating systems and more with System Center Configuration Manager

Posted 11 January 2017 - 09:27 AM

sure thing, drop me an email (as before) when you are online and i'll remote in again


Microsoft MVP > Enterprise Client Management
My linkedin profile at > linkedin.com
Follow me on Twitter > ncbrady
Follow windowsnoob.com on Twitter > windowsnoob
My blog

#12 noob2sccm

noob2sccm

    Newbie

  • Established Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 11 January 2017 - 06:33 PM

I will hit you up this weekend then.
 
Thanks





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users