Jump to content


Photo

how can I setup WDS in Windows Server 2008


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 anyweb

anyweb

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 5,935 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Deploying Operating systems and more with System Center Configuration Manager

Posted 05 May 2008 - 12:36 PM

Note: If you already have an Active Directory setup and configured DNS then skip to Step 2 (Setup DHCP). If you have already configured AD, DNS and DHCP then please skip to Step 3 (Add the WDS role).



This guide assumes that you have first of all installed Windows 2008 server on your machine and partitioned it as c: (Operating system) and d: (data), note that you can change the partitions after the installation of Windows 2008 server by using disk management and right clicking on a disk and choosing to shrink or extend. This guide is to help you set things up in a LAB. In Production, you have to plan things according to Technet documentation.

disk_management.jpg


Step 1. Setup and configure active directory

Click on Start and choose Server Manager, scroll down to Roles Summary and choose Add Roles.

When the wizard appears click next.

add_role.jpg




As WDS needs the folllowing:-

Active Directory Domain Services, DHCP, DNS, we will add the following role first:-

Active Directory Domain Services

We must install this role first before continuing to add the other roles, so lets select it and click on next.

active_directory_role.jpg

We will then be informed that installing AD requires us to run dcpromo.exe afterwards to make the server a fully functional domain controller. Click install to continue.

active_directory_confirmation.jpg

once done we'll get the success screen

ad_install_success.jpg

click close to continue

Once done the server manager will list our ADDS service with a red X beside it, click on it to run Dcpromo.exe.

adds_needs_dcpromo.jpg

This will open up the Roles section of Server manager, and we'll see a summary which says This server is not yet running as a domain controller. Run the Active Directory Domain Services Installation Wizard (dcpromo.exe).

Click on the blue text to continue.

run_dcpromo.jpg

This will start the Active Directory Domain Services Installation Wizard. Click on next to continue.

ad_install_wizard.jpg

Next we will get a screen telling us that older versions of Windows (pre Vista Sp1 ....) may have problems with a bunch of things including Windows Deployment Services (for more info read KB942564)

Platforms impacted by this change include Windows NT 4.0, as well as non-Microsoft SMB "clients" and network-attached storage (NAS) devices that do not support stronger cryptography algorithms. Some operations on clients running versions of Windows earlier than Vista with Service Pack 1 are also impacted, including domain join operations performed by the Active Directory Migration Tool or Windows Deployment Services.


ad_wiz_warn.jpg

click next to continue

Now we get to choose what type of domain we will setup, and for the purpose of this lab, we will select the second option, Create a new domain in a new forest.

ad_create_new.jpg

next we are prompted for the fully qualified domain name of the forest root domain (eg: corp.contoso.com)

Note: if you have not already given this server a good computername, then cancel this process and do so now. The computername will be prepended to whatever FQDN you enter, so if you enter corp.contoso.com then the FQDN of this domain controller will be AD1.corp.contoso.com

ad domain services installtion.png

after clicking next the wizard will check the validity of the fqdn,

next we get to choose the forest functional level, click the drop down menu and select Windows Server 2008 from the three choices (Windows 2000, Windows Server 2003, Windows Server 2008).
As this is only a test lab, we are not concerned that we can only add Windows 2008 or later servers to this forest.

ad_func.jpg

Clicking next will give some addtional options, leave them as they are (DNS Server selected) and click on Next again.

ad_aditional.jpg

if you get a warning about dynamically assigned ip addresses ignore it (choose yes),

dynamic_ip.jpg

you will most likely get another DNS warning if like me you don't have a Windows DNS server in the forest. Click yes to continue.

dns_error.jpg

Next we are asked where to store the AD database, logfiles and sysvol, stay with the defaults and click next.


ad_logs.jpg

and we are then prompted to set the Directory Services restore mode administrator account password

ad_pass.jpg

finally we get a summary of our actions

ad_summary.jpg

click next to get started

ad_wiz_dns.jpg

after a while you should see the AD wizard complete. Click Finish

ad_wiz_done.jpg

you'll be prompted to restart, so please go ahead and click on Restart Now.

restart.jpg
Microsoft MVP > Enterprise Client Management
My linkedin profile at > linkedin.com
Follow me on Twitter > ncbrady
Follow windowsnoob.com on Twitter > windowsnoob
My blog

#2 anyweb

anyweb

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 5,935 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Deploying Operating systems and more with System Center Configuration Manager

Posted 06 May 2008 - 07:18 PM

Step 2. Add the DHCP role

After completing Step 1, you now should see that Active Directory Domain Services and DNS server are installed (you can verify this in Server Manager, Roles, Roles Summary).

roles_installed.jpg

Now that we are in server manager lets click on Add roles again followed by next.


Select DHCP Server and click next.



wds_dhcp.jpg

Review the information about DHCP server...


dhcp_info.jpg

and if you have more than one network card in your Windows 2008 server, select the one which will be handing out ip's (in my case that is 192.168.3.1), I removed the tick from the other network card listed

dhcp_bindings.jpg

next you will need to clarify which DNS server ip address to listen to, I changed it from my second nic's ip address 192.168.3.1, clicking on Validate will verify that it's ok

post_1_1210140139.jpg

enter your WINS settings, I went with the default and clicked next,

dhcp_wins.jpg

next we have to input our DHCP server scope options, to do this click on Add


dhcp_scope_add.jpg

enter your scope settings (mine are listed below)

dhcp_scope_settings.jpg

click ok and your DHCP scope will now be listed

dhcp_scope_defined.jpg

click next and you'll get IPV6 options, I chose to disable this as I'm not using IPv6 yet

Windows Server® 2008 supports stateless and stateful DHCPv6 server functionality. DHCPv6 stateless mode clients use DHCPv6 to obtain network configuration parameters other than the IPv6 address, such as DNS server addresses. Clients configure an IPv6 address through a non-DHCPv6 based mechanism such as IPv6 address auto-configuration (based on the IPv6 prefixes included in router advertisements), or static IP address configuration.

In DHCPv6 stateful mode, clients acquire both the IPv6 address as well as other network configuration parameters through DHCPv6.


DHCP_IPV6.jpg

next we are asked about DHCP credentials for the AD DS, I stayed with the default,

dhcp_credentials.jpg

and then we will see a summary of our actions and choices for the DHCP server role

post_1_1210141080.jpg

clicking on Install will apply these settings and after some time you should hopefully see the following:-

dhcp_success.jpg



Step 3. Add the WDS role:-

In Server Manager, Highlight and select Windows Deployment Services and click next.

post_1_1210100639.jpg

you will get an information screen which has some info including the following:-

Before you begin, you need to configure Windows Deployment Services by running either the Windows Deployment Services Configuration Wizard or WDSUtil.exe. You will also need to add at least one boot image and one install image in the image store.


wds_service_info.jpg

Click next and notice the two role services listed, Deployment Server and Transport Server, make sure they are both selected and click next to continue.

wds_services.jpg


view the summary and click install to install the WDS role...


wds_summary.jpg

after some copying you should see this

wds_done.jpg

if you check server manager under roles you should now see the WDS role added.

wds_service_installed.jpg
Microsoft MVP > Enterprise Client Management
My linkedin profile at > linkedin.com
Follow me on Twitter > ncbrady
Follow windowsnoob.com on Twitter > windowsnoob
My blog

#3 anyweb

anyweb

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 5,935 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Deploying Operating systems and more with System Center Configuration Manager

Posted 06 May 2008 - 07:51 PM

Step 4. Configure the Windows Deployment Services gui (mmc snap in)

Click on Start/All Programs/Administrative tools/Windows Deployment Services.

at this point we can see that WDS is not configured yet, so let's do that now.

wds_not_configured.jpg

right click on the server name in the left pane and choose Configure Server


wds_configure.jpg

at the welcome page click next

welcome_page.jpg

change the remoteinstall path from the default C:\RemoteInstall to D:\RemoteInstall

remoteinstall_path.jpg

I put a checkmark in each of the DHCP options then clicked next

dhcp_options.jpg

I then chose to respond to all known and unknown computers (by default it's set to Do not respond to any)

Please note, if you want to set this option to only respond to known computers, then you can do so, but you will have to prestage your computers in Active Directory to do so

pxe_options.jpg

clicking on Finish applies these settings

when done, you'll be told that the configuration is complete and that you can now add images to the WDS server, click on Finish (again).

config_complete.jpg



Step 5. Adding boot.wim and install.wim

Note: You should use only the boot.wim file from the Windows Server 2008 DVD. If you use the boot.wim file from the Windows Vista DVD, you will not be able to use the full functionality of Windows Deployment Services for example, multicasting. If you have the Windows Vista SP1 dvd, you can safely use that for the boot.wim.



The Windows Deployment Add image wizard will appear, insert your Windows 2008 Server DVD and click Browse, select the sources folder on the Windows 2008 DVD and then click next

add_boot_wim.jpg

you'll be prompted to create a new image group, lets call it ImageGroup1 (the default name, you can change it later to Windows Server 2008 or Windows Vista Sp1 or whatever...).


image_group.jpg

review your settings and click next when ready

review.jpg

After a long while, the selected images will be added to the WDS server

images_added.jpg

click finish and review the WDS server as it is now

in the Boot Images pane, you should see Microsoft Windows Longhorn Setup (x86) and this is the original boot.wim file from the Windows 2008 Server DVD, please note that this is the default description name of the image, you could change it when addint the boot.wim image to something more descriptive as in this example

boot_images.jpg

In the Install Images pane, we can see the six available images from the Windows 2008 Server DVD, these are based upon the install.wim file on the DVD.

install_images.jpg

you can now PXE boot your client computers to the Windows 2008 WDS server.


troubleshooting note: if you add a new image to WDS and attempt to pxe boot and then install the image but get an error saying something like 'could not display the list of' then make sure you have used BOOT.WIM from a Windows Server 2008 DVD or Windows Vista sp1.
  • Jaoibh likes this
Microsoft MVP > Enterprise Client Management
My linkedin profile at > linkedin.com
Follow me on Twitter > ncbrady
Follow windowsnoob.com on Twitter > windowsnoob
My blog

#4 ramlan

ramlan

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 January 2009 - 08:21 PM

Hello,

I am new to SMS or SCCM 2007. I have DSL router acting as DHCP and couple of client machines have dynamic ip address from the router. Do, I still need to install DHCP on DC to continue with the install of SCCM 2007. Look forward to your reply.

My Lab setup - 4 laptops (P4 2.2ghz, 1GB Mem, 40GB HD) and 1 virtual machines on vmware workstation 6.0.3. One laptop will be DC with SCCM 2007 and the rest 3 laptops & 1 VM will act as client machines.

Tks/Ram

#5 anyweb

anyweb

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 5,935 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Deploying Operating systems and more with System Center Configuration Manager

Posted 27 January 2009 - 09:09 PM

hello and welcome !

I am new to SMS or SCCM 2007. I have DSL router acting as DHCP and couple of client machines have dynamic ip address from the router. Do, I still need to install DHCP on DC to continue with the install of SCCM 2007. Look forward to your reply.


you should enable dhcp on the DC, the dhcp on your router will not be sufficient.

please post these questions as new topics in the SCCM section

cheers
anyweb
Microsoft MVP > Enterprise Client Management
My linkedin profile at > linkedin.com
Follow me on Twitter > ncbrady
Follow windowsnoob.com on Twitter > windowsnoob
My blog

#6 joelmcmillin

joelmcmillin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 21 July 2009 - 12:11 PM

Does WDS have to be installed on the DC?
I have only W2K3 DCs and would like to install W2K8 and WDS on a separate server. Is this possible?

#7 anyweb

anyweb

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 5,935 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Deploying Operating systems and more with System Center Configuration Manager

Posted 22 July 2009 - 08:00 AM

yes of course it's possible, it was only installed on a DC in this example because this is a test lab
Microsoft MVP > Enterprise Client Management
My linkedin profile at > linkedin.com
Follow me on Twitter > ncbrady
Follow windowsnoob.com on Twitter > windowsnoob
My blog

#8 d0zer

d0zer

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts

Posted 17 September 2009 - 01:59 PM

Hello


our DHCP Server is a Cisco Server.
I have to specify the Path/File name for the PXE-Boot File.

What PXE Boot File have i to choose, so that i can boot x86 and x64 with PXE?

i have found the "pxeboot.n12" but it is available in the x86 and also in the x64 Folder on D:\RemoteInstall\Boot\


i hope, that you understand what i mean.


thank you

#9 RGB09

RGB09

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Interests:Computers and games Level designing

Posted 14 November 2009 - 10:08 AM

Just to confirm, the network at work already has servers that run DHCP, DNS and AD do I still need to add those to the WDS 2008 server???
I thought I could just add the WDS to the server2008 I am using and away it goes, I never had this problem with Server 2003?

#10 Malik4u

Malik4u

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Master Image design ::: Deployment

Posted 27 November 2009 - 06:32 PM

Hi

I am following this guide by you.... i have CISCO swich, it is not configured, let me know which services i am supposed to have on my switch ? What IP i should use for the ethernet ports ? If i have to use the static IP then it should be same as my NIC ip?



Step 4. Configure the Windows Deployment Services gui (mmc snap in)

Click on Start/All Programs/Administrative tools/Windows Deployment Services.

at this point we can see that WDS is not configured yet, so let's do that now.

wds_not_configured.jpg

right click on the server name in the left pane and choose Configure Server


wds_configure.jpg

at the welcome page click next

welcome_page.jpg

change the remoteinstall path from the default C:\RemoteInstall to D:\RemoteInstall

remoteinstall_path.jpg

I put a checkmark in each of the DHCP options then clicked next

dhcp_options.jpg

I then chose to respond to all known and unknown computers (by default it's set to Do not respond to any)

Please note, if you want to set this option to only respond to known computers, then you can do so, but you will have to prestage your computers in Active Directory to do so

pxe_options.jpg

clicking on Finish applies these settings

when done, you'll be told that the configuration is complete and that you can now add images to the WDS server, click on Finish (again).

config_complete.jpg



Step 5. Adding boot.wim and install.wim


Note: You should use only the boot.wim file from the Windows Server 2008 DVD. If you use the boot.wim file from the Windows Vista DVD, you will not be able to use the full functionality of Windows Deployment Services for example, multicasting. If you have the Windows Vista SP1 dvd, you can safely use that for the boot.wim.



The Windows Deployment Add image wizard will appear, insert your Windows 2008 Server DVD and click Browse, select the sources folder on the Windows 2008 DVD and then click next

add_boot_wim.jpg

you'll be prompted to create a new image group, lets call it ImageGroup1 (the default name, you can change it later to Windows Server 2008 or Windows Vista Sp1 or whatever...).


image_group.jpg

review your settings and click next when ready

review.jpg

After a long while, the selected images will be added to the WDS server

images_added.jpg

click finish and review the WDS server as it is now

in the Boot Images pane, you should see Microsoft Windows Longhorn Setup (x86) and this is the original boot.wim file from the Windows 2008 Server DVD, please note that this is the default description name of the image, you could change it when addint the boot.wim image to something more descriptive as in this example

boot_images.jpg

In the Install Images pane, we can see the six available images from the Windows 2008 Server DVD, these are based upon the install.wim file on the DVD.

install_images.jpg

you can now PXE boot your client computers to the Windows 2008 WDS server.

if you want to see more free articles like this then please DIGG it to show your thanks

troubleshooting note: if you add a new image to WDS and attempt to pxe boot and then install the image but get an error saying something like 'could not display the list of' then make sure you have used BOOT.WIM from a Windows Server 2008 DVD or Windows Vista sp1.



#11 rseru

rseru

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 01 April 2011 - 12:27 PM

dear sir,

I am a student who is learning about the networking and data communication. Here I need help from you for giving me the opportunity to learn more about the subject. I want to know how and the means for installing and Configuring WDS link Point to Point (Point-to-point network) and install and configuration point to multipoint WDS links

#12 David6507

David6507

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 November 2011 - 11:49 PM

I am using ghost right now, however I what to move to WDS. I have ghost servers all over the network and cannot get PXE to work. I use these to connet to a 12 TB server that hosts my images. Is there a way to have WDS on these servers w/ rather small hard drives, connet to an image store at a central location.
Thanks for your time.

#13 syspma

syspma

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 27 November 2011 - 12:21 AM

hi to all,

i just start to learn about sccm ,
i get confused as i thought that i will setup :

1- dc_server (win server 2008r2 + AD + DNS + DHCP)
2- sccm_server (WDS + IIS + SQL+ ........prerequistes....)

but WDS did not start

what is the best practice ?

please !!

#14 Ashu Agarwal

Ashu Agarwal

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 27 December 2011 - 08:10 PM

Hi - I have very less time in my hand to do configure the WDS package.

as far as I have been aware with the threads about WDS option there is DHCP/DNS Services must be installed where we are going in setup this services, but in here the scenario is different we have already DHCP/DNS server configured is in production on different box ! So it would not be possible to configure the separate DHCP/DNS Services only for this so please advise me what should be the alternate option is to be available ?

Subsequently I would need to deploy the images only of Servers level OS so am just little bit confused how would be concept of RAID that is must being a Server class machine.

I`ll wait your helpfull reply

#15 slackerhacker

slackerhacker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 08 January 2012 - 10:55 PM

Hi

Thank you for this excellent guide - it really helped me get WDS up (and running!)

I now want to create a windows XP install image, so I can do a PXE/network installation of XP onto a laptop (which will not boot from optical/cd or usb).

I installed WIndows XP into a VM in Hyper-V. I even found the sysprep stuff on the XP CD - is there any way I can create an XP install image using this setup?

Any help gratefully received!

J

#16 meiyouliyou

meiyouliyou

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 January 2012 - 08:34 AM

Error in Authorize this Deployment Services Server in DHCP
Hi,
I'm configuring MDT2010 update1 Server & here when I click go to Properties/Advance tab & select "Authorize this Deployment Services Server in DHCP" in DHCP Authorization section it gives me Access Denied Error though I'm admin on the system I also have full access for AD. Can anyone tell me what can be the issue?

#17 anyweb

anyweb

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 5,935 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Deploying Operating systems and more with System Center Configuration Manager

Posted 09 January 2012 - 11:10 AM

try right clicking and choose Run As Administrator, then try the same thing again...
Microsoft MVP > Enterprise Client Management
My linkedin profile at > linkedin.com
Follow me on Twitter > ncbrady
Follow windowsnoob.com on Twitter > windowsnoob
My blog

#18 slackerhacker

slackerhacker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 15 January 2012 - 10:45 AM

Sigh! I gave up on making an XP reference machine inside Hyper-V in order to create an install image. I still think it should be possible, if you can makeXP in VM boot from network, for instance.

I did however manage to get XP install done using WDS by using the VISTA WinPE, which is a bit more flexible (it opens a command prompt and then you can run diskpart, format, net use, etc. a really great admin tool actually!).You boot in Vista WinPE, then net use a share with XP install CD/DVD on WDS server and do [Z:\]I386\winnt32. The only caveat is I had to reformat the HD install partition at winpe command prompt, using diskpart (I formatted as FAT32, as previous NTFS was causing install problems).

#19 anusathya

anusathya

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:India

Posted 23 January 2012 - 09:01 AM

Hi,

how to edit boot.ini file in windows 2008server, (have to change )OS display name

#20 wmmayms

wmmayms

    MCITP

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 325 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Soccer, Computers

Posted 23 January 2012 - 12:34 PM

run: msconfig
MCITP: Deployment, MCTS: SCCM, Active Directory, Vista, Windows 7, Deployment, Office 2010
LinkedIn
Twitter




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Locations of visitors to this page